The permaculture seminarian fundraiser

Copyrighted by Creative Commons. User permission required.

Copyrighted by Creative Commons. User permission required.

Beginning in August, I will be a student at the Lancaster Theological Seminary, here in Lancaster, PA. It wasn’t that long ago that such a notion would have seemed absurd to me but now it makes perfect sense. I am a spiritual person and spent my formative years (from 12-18) in the Bible belt, in the rural north Texas town of Blue Ridge. The messages that I learned from church in those days instilled in me a desire to follow the Golden Rule as well as to be a good Christian. These days,  I still have that desire to follow the Golden Rule, and see it has dovetailing seamlessly with the ethics of Permaculture, which to me are Creation Care, Neighbor Care, and Future Care. I also have the desire to “unlearn” many of the things I learned from well meaning pastors and to explore more deeply the historical, sociological, anthropological, metaphorical and ecological underpinnings of the Christian New Testament and the Hebrew bible and how this deeper understanding of scripture can be applied today in this world gone made on war and environmental destruction.

One of the ways I am hoping to finance this expensive and exciting educational undertaking is through my photography. While in seminary a traditional job simply is not possible for me but photography and also writing afford me the chance to earn some income in moments when I am not buried in books about first century Palestine or the Jewish diaspora. To that end I want to promote the sites where my photography can be seen and even better my work can be purchased. The purpose is two-fold, one I hope to increase my exposure as a freelance photographer and two, I want to earn some money to offset the $60,000 in loans that will be required to complete a Master of Divinity degree.

Those wishing to buy photos or a variety of items such as mugs or wall art can go to my personal website on the Lancaster Photo Collective website at the following link: http://www.lancasterphotocollective.com/Dillon-Naber-Cruz-Photography

I have a growing portfolio on the stock photography website Shutterstock.com. Photographers interested in getting their work published can help my seminary cause by signing up to be a contributor to Shutterstock at this link: Contribute to Shutterstock

Those interested in using stock photography from Shutterstock can use this link: Shutterstock customer link

If anyone thinks that theological education is super important and wants to lend a hand without buying a picture then this is the link for you:

http://paypal.me/DillonCruz

Here are a few recent shots to whet the appetite.

Reflections in the glass

Reflections in the glass

An Amish hay wagon

An Amish hay wagon

Lancaster County

Lancaster County

Cowsheds waterfall Moravia, New York

Cowsheds waterfall Moravia, New York

 

One thought on “The permaculture seminarian fundraiser

Leave a Reply

