Taking the next step

Ever since the watershed moment that was the Permaculture Design Course I took at the Farm in Summertown, TN, I have been an enthusiastic proponent of permaculture as an efficacious way to bring about radical, meaningful change to a hurting planet full of hurting people. I recognized that had a decent skill set to be a full on permie creating a land based lifeplace from my experiences in agriculture and learning the basics of its related skills such as carpentry, welding, equipment operation and maintenance. What I lacked was permaculture design literacy and a science background.

A few weeks ago, I started to address the deficit in my design literacy when the Advanced Permaculture Design Practicum I enrolled in got underway. My project is a broad acre, grass based dairy farm in Lancaster County, PA that is making a name for itself selling delicious yogurt that they make on the farm. It’s by far the biggest design I have ever undertaken thus far and is giving me a tremendous opportunity to really, really stretch my permaculture muscles and really develop new ones. I’m excited by the project and how it will help me develop my skills and gain confidence in them.

To paraphrase Bill Mollison, regardless of what I think of myself as a designer, I can hardly do worse than what’s already been done!

 

Topo map of my design site

Topo map of my design site

 

 

Leave a Reply

